• Sport

Hollymount/Carramore point their way to final

Sunday, 24th January, 2016 8:52pm
Jump to comments
Hollymount/Carramore point their way to final

Hollymount/Carramore star Stephen Coen.

Hollymount/Carramore point their way to final

Hollymount/Carramore star Stephen Coen.

Hollymount/Carramore ....0-15

Loughinisland, Down .......0-10


HOLLYMOUNT/CARRAMORE produced a magnificent all round team performance to beat Down and Ulster intermediate champions, Loughinisland, and qualify for the All-Ireland club final which will be played in Croke Park on Saturday, February 6.

In what was a very tough encounter throughout, Hollymount/Carramore, who took the lead as early as the third minute and never lost it, called on all their great experience to see off the determined bid by Loughinisland.

While it was a game that was for most parts on a knife edge, there was no denying Hollymount/Carramore fully deserved their five-point victory.

The Mayo side had the better of the exchanges in the opening half and went in at the break leading by 0-7 to 0-4. The brilliant Darren Coen scored five of them, three frees, one from a sideline kick, and two delightful efforts from play. The other two, both brilliant frees, came from Kevin Feerick.

On the resumption, Hollymount/Carramore after withstanding some early pressure from their opponents, raised the first flag of the half, a brilliant point from Conor Keane.

It was end to end stuff for most of the half, but the Mayo side always kept their noses well in front.

They picked off seven more great points, three from Darren Coen, and one each from Stephen Coen, Ian Costello, Kevin Feerick and Keelan McNamara, to leave them the worthy winners and a place in the All-Ireland final.

Hollymount/Carramore: N. Campbell, R. Connelly, D. McHugh, D. Feerick, P.  Feerick, B. Sheridan, R. Molloy, K. McNamara (0-1), S. Coen (0-1), K. Feerick (0-3), I. Costello (0-1), K. Costello, C. Keane (0-1), D. Coen (0-8), D. Costello.

Subs used: C. Heneghan, L. Macken, B. Maloney.

Loughinisland: K. Gordon, R. Nixon, P. McGoran, M. Cochrane, P. Digney, C. O'Toole, R. Mason (0-5), D. O'Toole, D. Gordon, J. McCarthy (0-1), R. Stranney, J. Flynn, A. McClements (0-1), C. McGoran (0-1), S. O'Hare.

Subs used: S. Mason (0-1), P. McKenny (0-1), S. Cochrane, G. Johnson, C. Killen.

Ref: N.Ward (Meath).

Keep up-to-date with the latest news from around the county with a Connaught Telegraph epaper subscription from €2*

Group Publications

Your Forum
    Cookies on Connaught Telegraph website
    We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We also use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the Connaught Telegraph website. However, if you would like to, you can change your cookie settings at any time by amending your browser settings.
    How does Connaught Telegraph use cookies?
    Cookies enable us to identify your device, or you when you have logged in. We use cookies that are strictly necessary to enable you to move around the site or to provide certain basic features. We use cookies to enhance the functionality of the website by storing your preferences, for example. We also use cookies to help us to improve the performance of our website to provide you with a better user experience.
    We don't sell the information collected by cookies, nor do we disclose the information to third parties, except where required by law (for example to government bodies and law enforcement agencies).
    Hide Message