The outgoing chairman of Mayo GAA Liam Moffatt withdrew his nomination to become a Connacht Council delegate at this evening Mayo GAA convention at the Connacht GAA Centre in Bekan.

Elections to key Mayo GAA posts collapse after candidates withdraw

Elections to the posts of vice-chairman, secretary and Connacht Council delegates proved straight forward at this evening's Mayo GAA convention as a number of candidates withdrew their nominations.

Con Moynihan, Ballaghaderreen, was re-elected unopposed as vice-chairman after Dermot Butler and Paul Cunnane pulled out of the contest.

Moynihan had lost out earlier to Breaffy's Seamus Tuohy for the position of chairman following a vote.

Dermot Butler retained his role as secretary.

He was unopposed after Ronan Kirrane withdrew his nomination.

Outgoing chairman Liam Moffatt opted not to contest the election for Mayo GAA's two positions on the Connacht Council, resulting in John Hopkins and Paul Cunnane retaining their posts.

Former chairman Mick Higgins, Kiltimagh, has been elected president of Mayo GAA.