Mayo manager Derek Walsh has made two changes to his team for today's crucial Christy Ring Cup clash in Castlebar. Photo: Sportsfile

Two changes to Mayo senior hurling team for Derry clash

Mayo senior hurling team manager Derek Walsh has made two changes to his side ahead of their crucial round five winner-takes-all Christy Ring Cup game with Derry this afternoon.

Tooreen's Eoin Delaney is named at corner-forward in place of his club-mate Kenny Feeney in attack, with Gary Nolan (Tooreen) set to start at corner-back in place of Brian Hunt (Ballyhaunis).

Bobby Douglas continues to impress in goal, with Mark Phillips, Paul Kirwan and David Kenny now all regular starters in defence.

Stephen Coyne is named at full-back this weekend, switching positions with centre-back Ger McManus for consecutive weeks.

After a hugely impressive win against Sligo last time out, Walsh has remained loyal to his midfield pairing of Keith Higgins and Daniel Huane.

Up front, Eoin Delaney slots in at corner-forward, with Joe McManus and captain Shane Boland back playing their best hurling alongside him in the full-forward line.

The powerful and athletic Mayo half-forward line is the same as against Sligo, with Sean Kenny, the formidable Joe Mooney and Adrian Phillips named to start for consecutive weeks.

Galway referee Brain Keon is down to officiate the game, with the sliothar being thrown in at 1 p.m. today (Saturday) at Hastings Insurance MacHale Park, Castlebar. There will be live commentary on Midwest Radio with Micheal D. McAndrew and Frank Browne. Tickets for the match can be purchased here.

The mayo team in full is: Bobby Douglas; Gary Nolan, Stephen Coyne, Paul Kirwan; Mark Phillips, Ger McManus, David Kenny; Keith Higgins, David Huane; Sean Kenny, Joe Mooney, Adrian Phillips; Eoin Delaney, Joe McManus, Shane Boland.

The subs are: Barry Lane, Brian Hunt, Kenny Feeney, Patrick Lyons, Conal Hession, Darren Murray, Kealan Gallagher, Shane Crennigan, Danny Hill, Conor Murray, Eoghan Roe.