Tough draws for Mayo League sides in Connacht Junior Cup

THE third round draw for the Connacht Cup has made been made and there is one glamour tie among them.

In a repeat of the 2020 final, Westport United will welcome defending champions Salthill Devon to United Park. The sides met two years ago in the decider, with Salthill prevailing 2-1.

The Galway outfit are looking to win their third Connacht Cup in a row after retaining their title back in May against Ballinasloe Town.

Mayo Super Cup runners-up Kiltimagh/Knock United have also been handed a tough draw away to current Galway Premier Division leaders Athenry. Newly-crowned Super Cup champions Castlebar Celtic, who are the most successful club in the competition’s history alongside Galway Bohemians with nine victories, have been given a home draw against Tuam Celtic.

Mayo Super League champions Ballyheane will be on the road against Galway opposition in the form of NUIG, while Ballina Town also make the trip to Galway to take on St. Bernards.

Other ties for Mayo clubs are: Ballyglass v Arrow Harps, Straide & Foxford United v St. Johns FC, St. John’s Athletic v Manulla, Ballisodare United v Claremorris, Westport United B v Cregmore/Claregalway, Colga FC B v Ballyhaunis Town.

The Connacht Junior Shield draw has also been made. Ties with Mayo clubs are: Crossmolina v Manulla B, Castlebar Celtic B v Glen Celtic, Conn Rangers v Dunmore Town, Fahy Rovers v Cam Celtic, Killala v Athenry B, Swinford (bye).

All fixtures are scheduled for Sunday, January 15.