Uachtarán Chumann Lúthchleas Gael Larry McCarthy pictured with players of the clubs who will be taking part in the this year’s Comórtas Peile na Gaeltachta in Donegal’s Gaeltacht of Na Rosann during the launch of the competition at Croke Park, Dublin. Photo: Harry Murphy | Sportsfile

Mayo representatives in attendance as GAA’s annual Comórtas Peile na Gaeltachta is launched

The GAA’s annual Comórtas Peile na Gaeltachta was launched today in Croke Park, with Mayo representatives in attendance.

This year’s competitions will take place in the Donegal Gaeltacht of na Rosann between June 2 and 5, and will be hosted by local club CLG Naomh Muire.

This year sees the 52nd staging of Comórtas Peile na Gaeltachta and more games than ever will be broadcast on TG4 and RTÉ Raidió na Gaeltachta – both proud partners of the competition.

Speaking ahead of the launch, Gráinne McElwain, cathaoirleach, Choiste Náisiúnta Gaeilge CLG, said: “Comórtas Peile na Gaeltachta has a special place on the GAA’s calendar each year and I am sure that all the participating clubs and supporters will have a fantastic time and will be treated to a feast of football over the June bank holiday weekend.

“The competition gives Gaeltacht communities, as well as clubs that operate solely through Irish, an opportunity to come together and compete for All-Ireland medals. It is the Irish language that make this competition unique.

“I would like to wish CLG Naomh Muire, in particular, the best of luck. Having been involved in hosting last year’s Comórtas Peile na Gaeltachta with my own club, Naomh Anna Leitir Móir, I understand the huge work and sacrifice that is involved in hosting the competition. Go n-éirí an t-ádh leo uilig.”

Seán Ó hEarcáin, cathaoirleach, Chomórtas Peile na Gaeltachta, is looking forward to another great gathering and celebration of Gaelic football and the Irish language.

He said: “We very much look forward to next week’s Comórtas Peile na Gaeltachta and we wish CLG Naomh Muire all the very best as hosts of this great competition. Clubs from all seven Gaeltacht counties will again take part in this huge celebration of Gaelic football and the Irish language, as well all-Irish clubs from Belfast and Dublin.

“We look forward to seeing everyone in Donegal and to a great Comórtas again this year. I wish all participating clubs the very best of luck over the weekend.”

Comórtas Peile na Gaeltachta was set up in 1969 with the aim of bringing Irish speaking clubs and communities together for a weekend of football and many footballing greats have taken part in the competition over the years, including Kerry’s Muintir Uí Shé and Dara Ó Cinnéide, An Cheathrú Rua’s Seán Ó Domhnaill, Gaoth Dobhair’s Kevin Cassidy, Cill na Martra’s Noel O’Leary, Meath’s Graham Geraghty and Naomh Abán’s Micheál Ó Cróinín, to name just a few.

The 2023 Comórtas Peile na Gaeltachta line-ups are as follows:

- Junior ladies: Cill tSéadhna (Maigh Eo), Laochra Loch Lao (Aontroim), Micheál Breathnach (Gaillmh), Bhulf Tón (An Mhí), Na Gaeil Óga (Áth Cliath), An Clochán Liath (Dún na nGall), Naomh Muire (Dún na nGall)

- Senior ladies: Clann na nGael (An Mhí), Maigh Cuilinn (Gaillimh), An Tearmann (Dún na nGall), Cill Chomáin (Maigh Eo)

- Junior men: Gaoth Dobhair (Dún na nGall), Gaeil Fhánada (Dún na nGall), Clann na nGael (An Mhí), Lios Póil (Ciarraí), Na Gaeil Óga (Áth Cliath), Cárna Caiseal (Gaillimh), An Clochán Liath (Dún na nGall), Cill Chomáin (Maigh Eo), Laochra Loch Lao (Aontroim), Naomh Muire (Dún na nGall)

- Senior men: Naomh Conaill (Dún na nGall), Béal Átha an Ghaorthaidh (Corcaigh), Bhulf Tón (An Mhí), An Rinn (Port Láirge), An Ghaeltacht (Ciarraí), Béal an Mhuirthead (Maigh Eo), Naomh Anna (Gaillimh), Cill na Martra (Corcaigh)