COOKIES ON Connaught Telegraph

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We also use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the Connaught Telegraph website. However, if you would like to, you can change your cookie settings at any time by amending your browser settings.


Six-in-a-row for Mayo Senator Paddy Burke

Tuesday, 26th April, 2016 6:50pm

Six-in-a-row for Mayo Senator Paddy Burke

CASTLEBAR’S Paddy Burke has been elected to An Seanad for the sixth time.

He retained his seat on the agricultural panel on the 14th court earlier today.

A member of the Oireachtas since 1993, the 61-year-old Fine Gael representative was cathaoirlech of the 24th Seanad. He is a former member of Mayo County Council and Castlebar Town Council.

Senator Burke will be joined in office in the 25th Seanad by two new Mayo senators.

As widely predicted, Belmullet-based Sinn Féin Councillor Rose Conway-Walsh topped the poll on the agricultural panel while and her party colleague, Galway’s Trevor O’Clochartaigh, was re-elected following the distribution of her surplus.

Councillor Conway-Walsh’s election to the Oireachtas creates a vacancy on the West Mayo Municipal District of Mayo County Council.

Belmullet-based GP Dr. Keith Swanick became the first Fianna Fail senator elected last night when taking a seat on the cultural and education panel.

Post a Comment

blog comments powered by Disqus