COOKIES ON Connaught Telegraph

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We also use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the Connaught Telegraph website. However, if you would like to, you can change your cookie settings at any time by amending your browser settings.


Big three to miss much-awaited GAA showdown against Galway

Story by Aiden Henry

Monday, 16th April, 2018 3:13pm

Big three to miss much-awaited GAA showdown against Galway

Cillian O'Connor

MAYO trio Cillian O'Connor, Brendan Harrison and Lee Keegan are set to miss the county's opening round Connacht SFC clash against Galway on May 13 in Castlebar, it has been confirmed.

All three are recovering from serious injuries and while there is an outside chance of O'Connor being able to play some part in the Galway game, it is more likely it will be later in the summer before all three will be back to full fitness.

Better news for the Mayo supporters is that Chris Barrett, Donal Vaughan, Keith Higgins and Evan Regan, all whom missed the National League campaign, are back in the fold and should all be available for selection for the Galway clash.

This is a welcome boost for Stephen Rochford and his management team. The last thing manager Stephen Rochford wants is to lose to Galway in the Connaught championship for the third year in-a-row.

Of last year's 31-strong championship panel, only two members are missing this year,

Alan Dillon who retired from inter county football, and Donie Newcombe who has left the panel.

The 29 players still in the squad are Chris Barrett, Fergal Boland, Colm Boyle, Ger Cafferkey, David Clarke, Stephen Coen, Caolan Crowe, Jason Doherty, David Drake, Patrick Durcan, Brendan Harrison, Lee Keegan, Robbie Hennelly, Keith Higgins, Danny Kirby, Conor Loftus, Kevin McLoughlin, Andy Moran, Barry Moran, Shane Nally, Cillian O'Connor, Diarmuid O'Connor, Eoin O'Donoghue, Aidan O'Shea, Conor O'Shea, Seamus O'Shea, Tom Parsons, Evan Regan and Donal Vaughan.

They are joined by development squad members Sharoiz Akram, James Carr, Neil Douglas, Adam Gallagher, Michael Hall, James McCormack, Fionn McDonagh, Peter Naughton, Matthew Ruane and Ciaran Treacy.

These ten players, plus Cian Hanley and James Durcan who have also been added to this list in the last number of weeks, brings a total of 41 players training at the moment.

Post a Comment

blog comments powered by Disqus