Sorry Mayo ladies GAA saga rumbles on

Story by Aiden Henry

Thursday, 12th July, 2018 1:26pm

Sorry Mayo ladies GAA saga rumbles on

THE sorry saga surrounding the Mayo senior ladies GAA squad rumbles on.

Following on from news earlier today that two Mayo members of the county senior ladies team, Elaine Murphy, Hollymount, and Shauna Howley, Knockmore, plus selector Denise McDonagh, had walked away from the county senior set up, bringing in total to 12 players and two selectors, the Mayo Ladies County Board has ssued a statement on the saga.

It stated “The Executive Board of Mayo LGFA is acutely aware of the critical importance of player welfare. Player wellbeing is fundamental to all coaching and management structures.

“A comprehensive programme is in place to ensure that all Mayo players can train and perform in a safe and supportive environment and all necessary resources have been made available to enable the Mayo Senior Ladies compete with the very best in the country.

“In the light of media speculation about unspecified 'personal and sensitive' issues, the board feels it important to state that the senior management team has adhered to all protocols and guidelines set out at the beginning of their tenure.

“The board has made players and management aware that they have our full support going forward and we will continue to work with all parties to find an amicable resolution.

“Finally, we call on all Mayo fans to come out and support the team in Saturday's TG4 All-Ireland Qualifier against Cavan and for the remainder of the season.”

On Tuesday the players who left the squad released a statement via the Women's Gaelic Players' Association (WGPA) citing player welfare issues as their reason for quitting mid-season.

That short statement read: "We have stepped away from the Mayo panel for player welfare issues that are personal and sensitive to the players involved. Out of respect to the girls playing at the weekend and ourselves, we will not be commenting further. We wish the Mayo team well with their game on Saturday."

The WGPA also issued a short statement, saying that they are supporting the players and calling for an end to speculation surrounding the story.

"The WGPA wishes to acknowledge the situation in Mayo Ladies Football at present," they said.

"We are aware of the issues at hand and are supporting all of the players. We recognise the physical and emotional commitment required to operate at the top level of our games and respect the decision of all individual players regarding their own personal playing experience.”

Reading both statements, it appears there are serious issues to be addressed before this saga can be resolved.

The following are the 12 players who have to date left the Mayo senior panel along with senior team selectors Denise McDonagh and Michael McHale: Sarah Tierney, Hollymount, (team captain), Doireann Hughes, Fiona McHale, Cora Staunton, Marie Corbett, Amy Dowling, Martha Carter, Sadhbh Larkin, Saoirse Walsh (all Carnacon), Orla Conlon, Castlebar Mitchels, Elaine Murphy, Hollymount, and Shauna Howley, Knockmore.


Post a Comment

blog comments powered by Disqus