Mayo footballers win title with Dublin club

Thursday, 8th November, 2018 11:00am

Mayo footballers win title with Dublin club

The Ranelagh Gaels squad celebrate their win.

SIX Mayo Gaelic footballers have enjoyed club championship success in Dublin.

They were members of the Ranelagh Gaels team who were crowned Dublin Junior 2 Football Championship winners on bank holiday Monday.

Ranelagh came up against Ballyfermot DLS in the final played in Parnell Park and emerged two-point victors - 1-13 to 2-8 – after extra time, in a tough battle.

Ranelagh Gaels is a relatively new club, established in 2003, and this was their first championship title win.

On a team that remarkably featured no Dublin players on the day, Enda Marren, Swinford, started at wing-forward and put in a great performance.

Brian Waldron, Eastern Gaels, at corner-back, had a storming second half.

Kevin Gallagher from Bohola Moy Davitts was a sub but played his part all year in the club's journey to glory. Martin Larkin, Balla, came on as a sub.

Graham O’Toole from Louisburgh, wing-forward, put in a man of the match display.

And another west Mayo man, Liam Fallon from Achill, started at corner-forward.

This was a new competition this year for clubs with just one adult men’s team, which is unusual in Dublin.

At the helm for the history-making Gaels was manager Liam O’Hagan, an 80-year-old Dublin GAA legend.

Post a Comment

blog comments powered by Disqus