Mayo GAA/Elverys launch free schools equipment offer

Friday, 5th July, 2019 10:01am

Mayo GAA/Elverys launch free schools equipment offer

Group at sponsorship launch (full caption in story). Photo: Michael McLaughlin

MAYO GAA are partnering with Intersport Elverys to offer free equipment to secondary schools in Mayo for the next five years.

All secondary schools, both boys and girls, who participate in GAA competitions within Mayo are eligible for the scheme and all eligible schools will receive €500 towards the purchase of equipment for their school.

Said Mike Connolly, cathaoirleach, Coiste Chontae Mhaigh Eo: “Intersports Elverys have been sponsoring Mayo teams for the past 25 years and I am delighted they are also going to be working with schools within Mayo for the next five years.

Without the great work done at schools level we would not have players involved with our clubs who in turn go on to pull on the green and red jersey.

This equipment will greatly enhance GAA activity within the schools and I want to thank Elverys for the continued sponsorship they give to Mayo GAA at all levels of our games.”

Added Patrick Rowland, CEO, Intersport Elverys: “We are delighted to continue to partner with Mayo GAA into the future and believe that schools play a huge part in nurturing and developing future Mayo players. We have been sponsoring Mayo teams for over 25 years and firmly believe that this initiative will further develop the promotion of GAA games at school level across the county.”


* Pictured at the launch of the sponsorship scheme are, at back, from left: Damien Egan (Ballinrobe CS), Brian Murphy (Davitt College), Ray Brandon (St. Colman's), Rónán Bertt (St. Nathy's), Caoimhín Ó Catháin (St. Joseph's, Charlestown), Jimmy Kissane (Lacken Cross), Kevin Ó Toole (treasurer, Mayo County Board), Diarmuid Byrne (Elverys Intersport) and Darragh Mcmanamon (St. Joseph's, Foxford). At front: Billy McNicholas (Mayo County Board games manager), Eoin Carney (St. Mary's, Ballina), Diarmuid Byrne (Elverys Intersport), Joe McCabe (chairman of Mayo GAA post-primary schools), Paul Rowland (CEO, Elverys Intersport), Emma Galligan (Mount St. Michael, Claremorris), Brian Regan (Sacred Heart, Westport) and Michael Herr (secretary, Mayo GAA post primary schools). Photo: Michael McLaughlin

Post a Comment

blog comments powered by Disqus