Roscommon manager Liam Tully celebrates with his players after their side's victory in the EirGrid Connacht GAA Under 20 football championship final at Elverys MacHale Park, Castlebar. Photo: Piaras Ó Mídheach / Sportsfile

Mayo come up short against Roscommon

Mayo's bid for Under 20 Connacht football glory came up short in Elverys MacHale Park, Castlebar, tonight when they lost out to a Roscommon side that came good in the second half.

In the end Mayo can have no excuse as they were just outplayed by a Roscommon team that kicked for home in the third quarter, during which they outscored their opponents by 1-4 to 0-1.

In the opening half Mayo were by far the better team but failed to make it count where it mattered most – on the scoreboard. As a result they found themselves a point down by a point at the interval, 0-5 to 0-4. It was their inability to convert good scoring chances (they recorded nine wides) that cost them dearly.

On the resumption Roscommon who took control and after outscoring Mayo by three points to one, they struck for a crucial goal in the 42nd minute when Adam McDermott blasted a shot to the back of the net.

Mayo were thrown a lifeline in the 46th minute when they were awarded a penalty after substitute Paddy Heneghan was upended in the penalty area. However, Jack Mahon’s well struck spot kick was brilliantly turned around the post by Roscommon ‘keeper Conor Carroll.

A second Roscommon goal in the 58th minute by James Fitzpatrick made it game, set and match to the visitors.

To their credit Mayo kept battling away and were rewarded in the 64th minute when Connell Dempsey converted from the spot after Paddy Heneghan had been fouled in the big square for a second time in the game. But all it did was put a better look on the final scoreline.

Mayo: R. Connolly, S. Holmes (0-1), R. Keane, D. McHugh, C. Flynn, R. Baynes, A. Cosgrove, C. Dunleavy, J. Carney (0-2), E. Henry, C. Reid, C. Dempsey (1-1), U. O’Reilly, F. Irwin, J. Mahon (0-1). Subs used: P. Heneghan (0-1), D. Thornton, E. Duffy, O. McHale (0-1), R. Morrin.

Roscommon: C. Carroll, C. Lohan, C. Walsh, D. Gaughan, P. Gavin, T. Crean, C. Glennon, K. Doyle, R. Garvin, R. Dolan, J. Fitzpatrick (1-1), D. Cregg (0-5), B. O’Carroll (0-2), A. McDermott (1-2), D. Heneghan (0-1). Subs used: R. Fallon, J. Doory, J. Lohan, D. Wynne, S. Trundle.