Aimee Mackin had a day to remember for Armagh against Mayo this afternoon. Photo: Sportsfile

Mayo left with Galway test in All-Ireland quarterfinal

Aimee Mackin led the way with a haul of 3-6 as Armagh set up a TG4 All-Ireland SFC quarterfinal date with Meath after an impressive 3-14 to 0-12 Group 1 victory over Mayo at Ballinamore today, writes P.J. Leddy.

Mayo, who had already qualified for the knockout stages, will face neighbours Galway in the quarterfinals next weekend.

Armagh led by 1-8 to 0-6 at the break after Mackin got in for her first goal on eight minutes following an earlier exchange of points between Rachel Kearns and Aoife McCoy.

Mackin followed up with a couple of points and Mayo goalkeeper Aisling Tarpey did well to deny Niamh Coleman a 14th minute goal.

Mackin and Grace Kelly exchanged points for Armagh to lead by 1-4 to 0-2 at the first water break.

Mayo came more into the game in the second quarter, with Kelly getting two points and Sarah Rowe and Shauna Howley adding one each.

But Armagh matched them through McCoy and Fionnuala McKenna hitting a point each, while Mackin landed two more to ensure a five-point lead for Armagh at the interval.

Mackin wrapped up the issue in the third quarter when she completed her hat trick, finishing off a good move then slotting home a penalty to put the issue beyond doubt.

Mayo’s only response was a couple of points from Howley and one from Kelly.

Armagh continued to dominate and substitute Niamh Reel added two points, while Kelly Mallon also hit the target.

Mayo lost Kearns and Sinead Cafferky to the sin bin as Mackin, Reel and Mallon extended Armagh’s lead.

The Ulster girls now head into their quarterfinal meeting against Meath on the back of an impressive 11-point win.

Mayo will need to regroup for their showdown with old rivals Galway next weekend, meanwhile.

Armagh: A. Carr; S. Marley, C. McCambridge, G. Ferguson; E. Lavery, L. McConville, T. Grimes; K. Mallon (0-2), N. Coleman (0-1); B. Mackin, C. O’Hanlon, F. McKenna (0-1); A. Mackin (3-6), A. McCoy (0-2), A. Clarke. Subs: C. Marley, N. Reel (0-2), A. Henderson, M. Sheridan, S. Grey.

Mayo: A. Tarpey; S. Lally, C. McManamon, O. Conlan; T. O’Connor, C. Whyte, K. Sullivan; F. Doherty, S. Cafferky; F. McHale, R. Kearns (0-3), S. Rowe (0-1); G. Kelly (0-4), S. Howley (0-4), T. Needham. Subs: E. Ronayne, N. Kelly, M. Corbett, L. Cafferky, R. Durcan.