The Underdogs management team: Kevin Cassidy, Michelle Ryan and Mickey Ned O'Sullivan.

Three players from Mayo on Underdogs panel to face All-Ireland champions

The Underdogs will be taking on the top ladies Gaelic football team in the country at the end of the series when they go head-to-head with the ultimate underdogs – this year’s TG4 All-Ireland senior champions, Meath.

The match will be played at the Donaghmore-Ashbourne club in County Meath on Saturday, December 11 – and three of the players are from Mayo: Katelyn O’Sullivan (Ballyhaunis), Naomi Cuffe (Kilmoremoy) and Tara Donnellon (The Neale).

This eagerly-anticipated fixture will throw-in at 1.30 p.m., with a deferred broadcast to air on TG4's Peil na mBan Beo at 7.15 p.m. that evening.

The Underdogs is a unique group of players from different LGFA clubs all across the country. These footballers have never played at junior, intermediate or senior inter-county championship level before.

Over the last few weeks we have seen the players’ trials and training and listened to them tell their own stories on the Underdogs series on TG4.

Now, after six months of preparation and intense training, they are ready to take on TG4 All-Ireland senior champions Meath.

In this evening's episode, the Underdogs found out what team they will play on the big night. Next week (Thursday, December 9, 9.30 p.m.), join the Underdogs for the build-up to the big match two days before throw-in.

Tickets to attend the Underdogs v Meath game on Saturday, December 11, are on sale now and can be purchased at

Speaking on behalf of the LGFA, president Mícheál Naughton said: “The Underdogs have taken us on an emotional rollercoaster ride since the very first episode of the series was aired – and now they are preparing for the ultimate test.

“This is a game we are very much looking forward to against the reigning TG4 All-Ireland senior champions, Meath. It promises to be a wonderful game of football and I wish the very best of luck to both teams as they line out at Donaghmore/Ashbourne's wonderful facilities.”

The full Underdogs panel is as follows: Áine Cronin (Éire Óg, Co. Cork), Aisling Kane (Parnells GAA, Co. Dublin), Anna Murphy (John Mitchels, Co.Kerry), Aoife O’Reilly (Fingallians GAA, Co. Dublin), Aoife Plunkett (St. Vals LGFC, Co. Cork), Bronagh Fagan (Raheny GAA, Co. Dublin), Cassie Dunne (St. Paul’s, Co. Laois), Chanice Dolan (Donaghmore Ashbourne, Co. Meath), Chloe Johnston (O’Dwyers, Co. Dublin), Clara Fahey (Cahir, Co. Tipperary), Danielle Clemmer (Clounmacon, Co. Kerry), Deirdre Lawless (Caherlistrane, Co. Galway), Elaine Ní Niadh (CLG Cárna-Caiseal, Co. Galway), Erica McGlynn (Fossa LGFC, Co. Kerry), Fiona Tully (Kilbride, Co. Roscommon), Gráinne Power (Kilmore LGFC, Co. Wexford), Jayne Peacocke (Kilcullen, Co. Kildare), Jessica Hurley (Arklow Geraldines Ballymoney, Co. Wicklow), Jessica McCarthy (Douglas Ladies, Co. Cork), Jessica Wall (Croí Ró Naofa, Co. Dublin), Katelyn O’Sullivan (Ballyhaunis GAA, Co. Mayo), Katrina Parrock (Kilmore LGFC, Co. Wexford), Laura Basquel (Ballyboden St. Enda’s, Co. Dublin), Louise Dalton (Fingallians GAA, Co. Dublin), Louise Fagan (Ballyboughal, Co. Dublin), Naomi Cuffe (Kilmoremoy Ladies, Co. Mayo), Niamh McElduff (An Charraig Mhór Naomh Colmcille, Co. Tyrone), Nicole Mitchell (Erin’s Isle GAA, Co. Dublin), Rachel Sheehan (Passage West GAA, Co. Cork), Roisin Commons (Seneschalstown, Co. Meath), Tara Donnellon (The Neale, Co. Mayo) and Vanessa Gallogly (St. Joseph’s Ladies, Co. Leitrim).