Seamus Tuohy, the newly-elected chairman of Mayo GAA

Breaffy's Seamus Tuohy elected new chairman of Mayo GAA

Breaffy's Seamus Tuohy has been elected the new chairman of GAA.

He defeated Ballaghaderreen man Con Moynihan in a contest at the convention this evening at the Connacht GAA Centre of Excellence in Bekan, Claremorris.

The result of the ballot was not revealed to delegates.

Tuohy replaces Liam Moffat in the role, the Crossmolina clubman having defeated him in a vote for the role two years ago.

Moffatt announced a number of weeks ago he was stepping down due to personal reasons.

After being elected, Tuohy thanked all those who supported his nomination and placed faith in him as well as his election team.

He paid tribute to both Moffatt and Moynihan for their work on behalf of Mayo GAA.

In his address, Moynihan pledged his full support to the incoming chairman in the challenges that lie ahead.