Mayo band Billow Wood.

Mayo band wins music award in America

Mayo band Billow Wood is celebrating an award from the 2022 American Celtic Listener Supported Radio Awards and Irish music radio show host in Chicago, Maryann McTeague Keifer.

The Ballina-based group said they were 'over the moon' to have been awarded the Video of the Year award for 'The Black River' - an instrumental tune.

“It’s a great start to the year,” the band said as they thanked Ciaran O'Donnell from Nothin’ Too Fancy Productions for working with them on the music video.

They also congratulated the other award recipients, including Moxie, Seamie O'Dowd, Tara Breen, Joanie Madden, Sina Theil, Goitse (Aine McGeeney and Colm Phelan), Robbie Walsh, Damien McGeehan and Shauna McGeehan, noting the good company they were in.

“We are looking forward to the day when we are back on the road in the US,” the band concluded.