Aiden Orme celebrates scoring Mayo's second goal. Photo: Sportsfile

Mayo too strong for Dublin in Croke Park

First half goals from Jack Carney and Aiden Orme helped Mayo to a 2-11 to 0-12 win over Dublin in their Division 1 clash this evening.

Diarmuid O'Connor and Matthew Ruane got Mayo off to a flyer but Dublin went 0-4 to 0-2 up by the 15th minute.

Mayo drew level before Ciaran Kilkenny edged Dublin ahead. But Mayo plundered their first goal in through Jack Carney, whose low shot hit the post and bounced out, before coming off Evan Comferford's head and rolling into the net.

Dublin restored parity once more, but poor defending from the hosts saw Aiden Orme play in Ryan O'Donoghue and he fisted across goal for Orme, who continued his run, to palm home Mayo's second goal.

Fenton sent one over, before Rob Hennelly fired over a brilliant 45' to see Mayo lead 2-6 to 0-9 at half-time.

Another Hennelly free, a beauty from Michael Plunkett and Bryan's Walsh's first score extended Mayo's advantage in the second half.

Dublin reduced the deficit to four, but further points Plunkett and Diarmuid O'Connor from close range ensured Mayo's first league victory over the Dubs in Croke Park since 1971.

Mayo: Rob Hennelly (0-02, 0-01f, 0-01 45); Lee Keegan, Rory Brickenden, Michael Plunkett (0-02); Oisin Mullin (0-01), Stephen Coen, Donnacha McHugh; Matthew Ruane (0-02), Jordan Flynn; Bryan Walsh (0-01), Diarmuid O'Connor (0-02), Jack Carney (1-00); Paul Towey, Ryan O'Donoghue, Aiden Orme (1-01).

Subs: Kevin McLoughlin for Carney (49), Conor Loftus for Towey (49), Enda Hession for Mullin (60), Aidan O'Shea for Ruane (62), Fergal Boland for O'Donoghue (65), Eoghan McLaughlin for Plunkett (72, blood.)

Dublin: Evan Comerford; Michael Fitzsimons, Sean McMahon, David Byrne; Lee Gannon, John Small, Tom Lahiff; Brian Fenton, Brian Howard; Sean Bugler (0-01), Niall Scully, Ryan Basquel; Ross McGarry (0-02 0-01m), Ciaran Kilkenny (0-03, 0-01m), Dean Rock (0-04, 0-04f).

Subs: Lorcan O'Dell (0-01) for McGarry (40), Jonny Cooper for Basquel (50), Alex Wright for Howard (65), Cian Murphy for Gannon (65), Harry Ladd for Scully (72).

Referee: David Gough (Meath)

*Full match report & reaction in Tuesday's print edition.