Mayo Under 17 team for Celtic Challenge semi-final named

Mayo Under 17 hurling team manager Brian Finn has made one change to his side ahead of their Electric Ireland Celtic Challenge All-Ireland semi-final against Kildare tomorrow (Saturday) at Adrian Freeman Park in Tooreen (12 noon).

Into the side comes Tooreen's Jake Glavey at wing-back replacing Anthony Rowland from Castlebar Mitchels.

Mayo U17 hurlers have developed into a formidable team over the past few months with wins over Tyrone, Longford and Sligo secured.

Midfielders Sean McGhee from Ballyvary and Matthew Connor from Caiseal Gaels have been outstanding all season for Mayo, with Cathal Guilfoyle, Colm Enright, Aidan Cunningham and Colin Duffy deadly accurate in front of goals.

At the back, Tom Lambert, Rory Dean and Conor Ketterick have excelled in the full-back line, with Sean Keadin and Ryan Finn to the fore in the half-back line.

The Celtic Challenge was established in 2016 and is the only competition in hurling that has teams from all 32 counties participating.

Mayo’s All-Ireland semi-final against Kildare tomorrow (Saturday, May 14) has a 12 p.m. start time in Tooreen. Aaron Clogher from Cork will officiate.

The Mayo team in full is: Stephen Reilly; Connor Ketterick, Rory Deane, Tom Lambert; Sean Keadin, Ryan Finn, Jake Glavey; Sean McGhee, Matthew Connor; Colin Duffy, Colm Enright, Conor Donaldson; Cathal Guilfoyle, Aidan Cunningham, Sean Lynskey.

The subs are: Eoin Healy, Lee Hennigan, Evin Furlong, Sean Duffy, Thomas O'Reilly, Oisin Mulroy, Dylan Groarke, Anthony Rowland, Eoin Conway, Damian Early, Charlie Kelly, Michael Foody, Rian Haran.