The group of 25 Mayo AC runners who took part in the County 10k Championships in Swinford.

Mayo County 10k Championships return after three-year absence

SWINFORD AC hosted the 2022 County 10k Championships, in conjunction with Mayo Athletics County Board in Killasser, on Wednesday evening July 20. Club runners from around the county competed for championship medals in the Junior, Senior, and Masters age categories.

The event was last held in 2019, incorporated in the Ballina 10k.

Conditions were good – a sunny evening and light breeze and a lovely atmosphere around the centre. The 10k course, which started and finished near the community centre, looped through mainly single track local roads. A tough course, according to some runners!

There was a good turnout of 60 runners from county clubs, including an excellent 25 strong group from Mayo AC.

Luke Johnson (Moy Valley AC) was the clear race winner in 31:45, and Aoibhinn Flatley (Swinford AC) claimed the women’s county title in 38:30.

Mayo AC's Sarah Byrne was second woman home in 41:01, with a great run and added to that silver medal with gold in O35. Clubmate Martina O’Connor ran a well-paced race all the way for bronze in 41:23.

Rowland McIntyre crossed the line first of Mayo AC’s finishers, seventh overall, and was a well deserved bronze O35 winner in 36:46.

Mayo AC’s other women’s medal winners were Paula Donnellan (silver in O35 in 42:29), Colette Tuohy (gold in O50 in 41:43), Angela O’Connor (silver in O50 in 42:55).

Mayo AC men’s medal winners were Ray Clarke (bronze in O50 in 41:58), Paraic Sweeney (gold in O65 in 47:06), and Mattie Donnellan (silver in O65 in 47:68)

The Mayo AC women team - Sarah, Martina, Colette and Paula - won gold, while the Mayo men’s team of Rowland, Tadgh Hanrahan, Andrew Hayes and Anto Devanney won bronze.

The other Mayo AC finishers were: Tadgh Hanrahan (36:58), Andrew Hayes (37:51), Anto Devaney (40:18), Andy Neary (41:00), Padraic McVann (42:15), Michael McNeela (42:29), Damien Finnegan (44:15), Dee Corcoran (45:38), Donna Gallagher (46:21), Ann McDonnell (48:33), John Nyland (49:29), Angela McVann (50:10), Dee Finnegan (50:30), Roger Clarke (51:53), Marcella McDonnell (52:50) and Joan Walsh (54:13).

Congratulations to the club's brilliant nine individual medal winners, the women’s team who won gold and men’s team bronze. John Byrne, Mayo AC club chairperson, said afterwards: "Well done and thank you to every Mayo AC member who ran the County championship 10k in Killasser. Red and Green vests accounted for over a third of the field of runners. Some brilliant times posted and medals won but the main positive was how well represented the club is by each of the 25 members who competed."

Well done to host club Swinford AC and the Mayo Athletics County Board who did an excellent job organising the event and providing refreshments for all at the race HQ.

The Mayo Athletics County Board 10k Road Championships medals were presented by the secretary of the County Board, Sheila Hughes, and full results can be found at