Gary Cunningham in action. Photo: Conor McKeown

Mayo man on Ireland amateur squad for Wales friendly

Republic of Ireland are set to host Wales in a UEFA Regions Cup amateur international friendly at Turners Cross in Cork tomorrow (Saturday).

Manager Gerry Davis has named a 20-man squad for their first international match since May 2019 and their first-ever against Wales at this level. The squad includes Westport United goalkeeper Gary Cunningham.

Davis has named five players from the FAI Intermediate Cup champions, Rockmount, including skipper and goalkeeper Brendan O'Connell, and exciting midfield duo Luke Casey and Eoin Murphy, who both starred in the victory over Bluebell United.

Former Junior International Player of the Year and Newmarket Celtic striker Eoin Hayes is named in the squad as well as Jack Parke and Lee McColgan from the Ulster Senior League, playing for Bonagee United and Cockhill Celtic respectively.

“I'm delighted to see a number of young players get the opportunity to come and play for Ireland, and it is a credit to their hard work and commitment at their clubs last season,” said Davis.

“It's also great to have our squad truly represent Ireland with players from all parts of the country named in the match-day squad, with the likes of Lee McColgan and Jack Parke representing the Ulster Senior League, Gary Cunningham and Mikey Fox from Connacht, and a number of players from Munster and Leinster.

“It's important to recognise what a momentous day it will be for the players and families of the players. To represent your country at any level is a true honour and I'm sure the players will represent Ireland with pride and passion with a committed performance tomorrow.”

Tickets for the match will be available on the gate at Turners Cross at a cost of €10 adults, €5 students and free for Under 12s. Kick-off is at 2.30 p.m.

The Republic of Ireland squad in full is: goalkeepers - Brendan O'Connell (Rockmount), Gary Cunningham (Westport United); defenders - Adam Crowley (Rockmount), Jack McMullen (Home Farm), Chris Smith (St. Michael's AFC), Jack Parke (Bonagee United), Aaron Humphries (Kilbarrack United), Lee McColgan (Cockhill Celtic); midfielders - Adam Murphy (Coachford), Stephen Chambers (Killester Donnycarney), Jimmy Carr (St. Michael's AFC), Eoin Murphy (Rockmount), Luke Casey (Rockmount), Nathan Broderick (Rockmount), Mikey Fox (Salthill Devon), A.J. O'Connor (Fairview Rangers); forwards - Eoin Hayes (Newmarket Celtic), Gary Gannon (Usher Celtic), Derek Hyland (Kilbarrack United), Simon Falvey (Avondale United).