Interview panel for new Mayo senior manager revealed

Aiden Henry

The interview panel to select a new Mayo senior football team manager will consist of six members, The Connaught Telegraph can reveal.

The four candidates in for the job – Ray Dempsey, Michael Solan, Kevin McStay and Declan Shaw – will all be interviewed for the position the week after next.

The group tasked with the job of selecting the new manager includes former two-time All-Ireland senior winner with Galway, Sean Silke. Silke will be the representative from a Galway HR company.

Although the Mayo GAA County Board have declined to comment on who was selected on the six-person interview panel, The Connaught Telegraph understands that county board secretary Dermot Butler and vice-chairman Con Moynihan are not on the interview panel due to a conflict of interest with some of the candidates.

As a result, the six-person interview panel selected at an executive meeting of the county board during the week is as follows: chairman Seamus Tuohy, assistant secretary Ronan Kirrane, treasurer Valerie Murphy, south Mayo chairman Mike King, Cáirde Mhaigheo committee member Pat O’Donnell and the aforementioned Sean Silke.