Closure dates of Mayo Ulster Bank branches confirmed

Ulster Bank’s 63 remaining branches in the Republic of Ireland are to cease transactions on March 31 and close on April 21 next.

They include the branches in Castlebar, Ballina and Claremorris.

The announcement means customers will no longer be able to make cash or cheque lodgements either at the counter or through internal automation devices or make any form of a withdrawal at an Ulster Bank branch (except for ATM services).

In the period from April 1 to 23, staff in branches will be fully focused on supporting any remaining personal and business customers to move to a new banking provider and close their accounts.

These 63 branches, and ATM services, will permanently close on April 21.

In January, 25 Ulster Bank branches - including Belmullet and Westport - closed as part of the transaction with Permanent TSB, and are reopening as Permanent TSB branches.