Five-star St. Joseph's, Foxford reach national final

ST. JOSEPH’S Secondary School, Foxford booked their place in the FAI Schools John Murphy National Cup Final following a five-star performance against Munster Champions Coláiste Mhuire of Askeaton in Maree Oranmore yesterday afternoon.

The Mayo side were first to threaten with Captain Adam Gallagher forcing Askeaton keeper James Ranahan into a top class save with just four minutes registered.

Colm Rutledge also came close to breaking the deadlock with a quarter of an hour played.

It was Rutledge who converted a silky finish for St. Joseph’s first of the day inside 19 minutes.

Dylan Coleman doubled their tally from the penalty sport three minutes from the interval as they went in at the break, two ahead.

The Connacht stars third came on the hour mark as Colm McHale toe poked home from a well placed corner in a congested box.

A fourth was added with 15 minutes left as substitute Oliver Armstrong netted.

Foxford didn’t have it all their own way as Askeaton’s Lee Maune sliced in from the right wing to slot past Shane Moyles to make it 4-1 with ten minutes remaining.

However, two minutes later, Adam Gallagher scored Foxford’s fifth with a splendid finish.

Holders in 2019 and beaten finalists in 2020, St. Joseph’s will await the winners of the other side of the draw.

Gaelcholáiste na Mara, Arklow won the Leinster Final yesterday defeating Coláiste Ghlór na Mara of Balbriggan 4-2 on penalties when the game ended two each after extra time. Arklow will await the Ulster qualifiers as three snow days last week delayed the conclusion of their competition.

The John Murphy Senior B National Cup Final is scheduled for Wednesday, February 8, with kick-off at 1 p.m.

This will be the second national title Foxford will contend for as the girls are through to the Senior B Cup when they face newbies Coláiste Oiriall, Muineachán a week earlier, on Wednesday, February 1.

St. Joseph’s Secondary School, Foxford Shane Moyles, Asay McGrath, Ronan Holmes, Tuan O’Horo, Colm McHale, Adam Boukioud, Fiachra Cruise, Adam Gallagher, Kyle Neary, Dylan Coleman, Colm Rutledge.

Subs: Oliver Armstrong for Neary (59), James Clarke for Coleman (63), Adrian Sotoparra for Rutledge (74), Sam Thornton for Cruise (76), Cathal Clarke for Gallagher (82).

Teachers: Brian Murphy, Stephen Burke.

Coláiste Mhuire of Askeaton: James Ranahan, Will Madigan, Aidan O’Malley, Ben Higgins, Callum Ryan, Senan Walsh, AJ Moroney, Seán Hourigan, Jack Ward, Senan O’Brien, Lee Maune.

Subs: Thomas McCarthy for Hourigan (35), Billy Brewer for Moroney (63), Sam Harty for O’Brien (76), Eoin O’Donnell for Ward (82), Aidan Fogarty.

Teacher: Íde Trant.

Ref: Vincent Carew (Galway).