South Mayo A, championship winners at the Mayo District Dart League Championships

South Mayo remain the tungsten titans of the county’s darts scene

THE Mayo District Dart League Championships made its return following a three-year Covid hiatus as 11 teams took part in one of the biggest darting events in the county in the Ivy Tower Hotel last Saturday.

South Mayo A retained the championship in emphatic fashion. They beat Erris 7-1 in the semi-finals and took out Westport A, who beat Castlebar A 7-1 in the other semi-final, by the same scoreline.

In the shield, Castlebar B fell in the semi-finals to eventual winners Ballina, while South Mayo B retained the plate after beating East Mayo.


ON the same day, the Mayo Youths travelled to the Talbot Hotel, Carlow, for the Youth Inter Counties Championships and gave a tremendous account of themselves.

In the group stage, Mayo won 3-2 against Cork 2 and 4-1 against Tipperary 2, with 3-2 defeats to Meath 2 and Carlow 2. Their results saw them advance to the championship knockout stages, where they fell to eventual champions Carlow 1.