Knockmore’s Shane McHale gives chase to Aghamore’s Fergal Boland during their Mayo SFC third round. Knockmore are one of the teams through to the last eight, where they will meet Charlestown. Photo: David Farrell

Group winners hold the edge ahead of Mayo football quarterfinals

The group winners in the Connacht Gold Mayo Senior Football Championship look to hold the aces ahead of the quarterfinals, which will be played the weekend after next, writes John Melvin.

Times and venues will be announced on Tuesday following the draw, which was made this evening.

The fixture that jumps out immediately is the clash between Ballintubber and Castlebar Mitchels, who met in the 2017 final – a game that Mitchels won.

Elsewhere, Breaffy have been drawn against defending champions and title favourites Westport, Knockmore and Charlestown are pitted against each other, while Ballina Stephenites have been drawn against Belmullet.

The third and final round of the group stages did not throw up any surprises. Wins for Ballina and Breaffy over Balla and Mayo Gaels respectively in Group 1 confirmed their quarterfinal places.

In Group 2, Westport, who were already through, eased past Claremorris, with the second place up for grabs between Ballaghaderreen and Charlestown Sarsfields. Charlestown, who got their championship off to a disastrous start against Westport, bounced back to make the last eight

In Group 3, Ballintubber saw off the challenge of Garrymore to top the group, which was good news for Belmullet who filled the second spot after beating The Neale, while Group 4 ended with Knockmore on top following their win over Aghamore while Castlebar Mitchels were less than impressive but managed to beat Ballyhaunis to claim second spot.

The quarterfinal draw is: Westport v Breaffy, Knockmore v Charlestown, Ballina Stephenites v Belmullet, Ballintubber v Castlebar Mitchels

The relegation playoffs see Balla face The Neale and Claremorris take on Ballyhaunis.

The big result in the Egan Jewellers Mayo Intermediate Football Championship today was Castlebar B's 2-12 to 1-13 victory over Crossmolina, which secured Mitchels B a place in the quarterfinals at the expence of the Deel Rovers. Bohola Moy Davitts had already confirmed their status as Group 4 winners and their game against Kilmaine, which finished in a three-point win for Moy Davitts (2-14 to 2-11) was most notable for the return of Oisin Mullin to the green and red of the south Mayo club. Mullin's worth to the team may be invaluable for the upcoming relegation scrap.

In Group 1, last year's junior champions, Islandeady, took the scalp of Davitts on a 2-12 to 0-13 scoreline to book a spot in the quarterfinals alongside Parke-Keelogues-Crimlin, who drew with Bonniconlon.

Group 2 was decided yesterday, with wins for Kilmeena and Louisburgh leaving them through to quarterfinals. Kiltimagh finish bottom and have work to do to avoid going down.

Ballinrobe and Hollymount/Carramore, who played each other yesterday (with Ballinrobe winning), will join them from Group 3, where the other game was a battle to avoid the relegation playoff. Kiltane managed to secured safety today with a 1-10 to 0-11 victory over Burrishoole.

The intermediate championship quarterfinals are as follows: Bohola Moy Davitts v Hollymount/Carramore, Louisburgh v Castlebar Mitchels B, Parke-Keelogues-Crimlin v Kilmeena, Ballinrobe v Islandeady.

The relegation playoff games are: Bonniconlon v Burrishoole, Kilmaine v Kiltimagh.

There were just two games in the TF Royal Hotel & Theatre Mayo Junior Football championship today, both in Group 4. Lahardane secured top spot with a 0-12 to 0-6 victory over Swinford, while Ballycroy avoided bottom place in the group by beating Moygownagh on a 0-17 to 1-8 scoreline.

The junior quarterfinals are: Lahardane v Killala, Cill Chomáin v Northern Gaels, Eastern Gaels v Swinford, Shrule/Glencorrib v Ardagh.

Ballycastle and Achill have byes to the junior B semi-finals. Joining them will be the winners of Kilmovee v Ballycroy and Moygownagh v Tourmakeady.