Minister Charlie MacConagolue presenting the award Kenneth Murphy and John Flannelly, Ballinrobe Racecourse.

Prestigious distinction for Ballinrobe Racecourse

Ballinrobe Racecourse has been crowned "Racecourse of the Year" at the Horse Racing Ireland awards, held last night at the Mansion House in Dublin.

The honour was graciously accepted by racecourse chairman, Kenneth Murphy, and racecourse manager, John Flannelly.

The findings of an online industry survey taken earlier this year was used to determine the nominees for this award.

Ballinrobe emerged as the clear winner having topped a number of the survey’s categories.

The Horse Racing Ireland awards ceremony, that recognizes excellence and achievement in the horse racing industry, saw Ballinrobe Racecourse stand out among its peers, earning the coveted title of "Racecourse of the Year."

This accolade underscores Ballinrobe Racecourse's commitment to delivering exceptional experiences for racing enthusiasts and industry stakeholders alike.

Kenneth Murphy, chairman of Ballinrobe Racecourse, expressed his gratitude for the prestigious recognition.

He stated: "We are truly honored to receive the 'Racecourse of the Year' award from Horse Racing Ireland.

"This achievement is a testament to the dedication and hard work of everyone involved in Ballinrobe Racecourse."

John Flannelly, racecourse manager, added: "This award is a reflection of the passion and teamwork that goes into creating memorable race day experiences.

"We are grateful to the entire Ballinrobe Racecourse community, including our staff, sponsors, valued patrons, Lydon House Catering and all those in the racing industry, for contributing to our success."

Ballinrobe Racecourse has long been known for its picturesque setting, outstanding facilities, and commitment to delivering top-class events.

The "Racecourse of the Year" award is a fitting acknowledgment of the racecourse's continuous efforts to elevate its standards.

The 11 winners at the 21st Horse Racing Ireland Awards:

Contribution to the Industry: Jessica Harrington

Irish Racing Hero Award: Davy Russell

Horse of the Year: Auguste Rodin

Emerging Talent: John Gleeson

National Hunt Award: Paul Townend

National Hunt Achievement: John Kiely

Point-to-Point Award: Barry O'Neill

Flat Award: Aidan O'Brien

Flat Achievement Award: Wesley Joyce

Ride of the Year winner: Amy Jo Hayes

Racecourse of the Year: Ballinrobe