Mayo natives among nominees for Connacht Rugby awards

Connacht Rugby has announced the nominees for the 2023/24 Connacht Rugby Awards, presented by Globalization Partners.

The annual gala event takes place on Saturday, May 25, at the Galmont Hotel in Galway, and pays tribute to the performances and achievements of players, coaches and volunteers at all levels of the game.

There are 17 awards in all, ranging from club and school level to the Connacht player pathway and senior men’s and women’s sides. The winners will be announced across Connacht’s social media channels as they happen on the night.

Limited tickets are available to purchase now at The night includes a drinks reception, four-course meal and awards ceremony, plus live music and DJ ‘til late, so it’s going to be an occasion not to be missed.

Among the nominees are a number of Mayo natives, including Ailish Quinn of Ballina RFC and St. Mary's Secondary School, Ballina, in the Women's Under 18 Player of the Year category (sponsored by RDJ), Michael Honan, Ballina, in the Referee of the Year category, Tara McNulty of Westport RFC in the Women's Club Player of the Year category, Fintan Crawley of Ballyhaunis RFC in the Junior Club Player of the Year category, and Geesala's Clara Barrett in the Women's Player of the Year category (sponsored by G-P).