Allianz Cumann na mBunscol Mhaigh Eo Division 3 hurling winners Clarmorris BNS pictured after defeating Ballyvary NS in the county final at Hastings Insurance MacHale Park, Castlebar. Photo: Michael Donnelly

Historic day for Claremorris boys in Mayo Cumann na mBunscol

Claremorris BNS 0-5

Ballyvary NS 0-1

The Allianz Cumann na mBunscol Mhaigh Eo Division 3 hurling final between Claremorris Boys National School and Ballyvary National School was in the melting pot right until the very end, writes Patrick Hennelly.

A gusty Ballyvary NS team battled gamely from first whilst till last were just pipped at the post by a determined Claremorris BNS outfit at Hastings Insurance MacHale Park, Castlebar.

Claremorris enjoyed the lion’s share of possession during the first half and very nearly notched an early goal but somehow Mihai Alin Jirebie saw his well-taken strike fly inches wide after some excellent approach play from his team-mate Kieran Walsh.

The deadlock was broken in this contest on four minutes when Claremorris’ John Foody guided over a peach of a free, and he very nearly added a goal on 13 minutes but his radar was slightly askew, much to the relief of Ballyvary’s Cian Lawless.

The west Mayo school tried their level best to forge a way back into the tie but could find no way past a watertight Claremorris defensive unit, led by the impressive duo of Jack Veldon and Foody.

The Claremorris town outfit came close to a goal again on 14 minutes, but Jack Cassidy’s effort was brilliantly saved by Lawless.

Claremorris BNS had to be content to be in front by the bare minimum at the break on a scoreline of 0-1 to 0-0.

Two minutes into the new half, the leaders further stretched their advantage as Cassidy latched on to Foody’s free and improvised by expertly kicking the sliotar between the posts.

Ballyvary rallied and their patience and persistence paid dividends three minutes into the second half when Eoin Corrigan landed an impressive free.

However, Foody was beginning to orchestrate proceedings for Claremorris and his two points (one free) would prove crucial in the end.

A gallant Ballyvary worked hard as they searched for a way back into the contest, but Jack Monaghan’s long-range point towards the end of the game proved to be the vital insurance score for the south Mayo school.

As well as capturing a county title, Monday was also a historic day for Claremorris BNS as they took to the field one last time in Cumann na mBunscol. The school is set to amalgamate with Scoil Muire Gan Smal in September.

Claremorris BNS: Flynn Cassidy, Jack Veldon, John Foody (0-3, 2f), Judad Amorin De Cesare Alexandre, Jack Cassidy (0-1), Jack Monaghan (0-1), Mihai Alin Jirebie, Kieran Walsh, Kyle Gleeson, Adam Conroy, Jamie Monaghan, John O’Grady, Ryan Walsh, Oisín Doherty.

Ballyvary NS: Cian Lawless, Robert Joyce, Riain Kelly, Oisín O’Reilly, Ryan O’Neill, Calum Costello, Conor Doherty, Eoin Corrigan (0-1f), Danny Ruane, Tom O’Donnell, Evin Flynn, Ciara McKeon, Noah Fitzmaurice, Hayden Collman, Mike McDonnell, Dean Keavney, Niall Kelly.

*See this week's print edition for comprehensive Cumann na mBunscol coverage