All seats on Mayo County Council filled

THE final seats on Mayo County Council were filled in the early hours of this morning (Tuesday) when the count for the Ballina Electoral Area concluded.

With John O'Hara and Mark Duffy confirmed there earlier in the day, the last four seats went to Annie May Reape, first-time candidate Joe Faughan, Michael Loftus and Jarlath Munnelly.

Two hours earlier, at around midnight, the Swinford count, which turned into a total cliffhanger, also concluded.

It took two recounts to decide the last three seats, with sitting councillors Adrian Forkan, John Caulfield and Neil Cruise all re-elected.

Sinn Féin's John Sheahan missed out on the last seat by just one vote.

Three sitting councillors lost their seats in this election - Tom Connolly from Claremorris, Christy Hyland, Westport, and Martin McLoughlin, Westport.

The five new faces in the council chamber are Alma Gallagher and Paul Lawless in Claremorris, Joe Faughan, Ballina, Harry Barrett, Castlebar, and Chris Maxwell in Westport.

The 30 members of Mayo County Council for this five-year term are as follows.

Ballina: Mark Duffy (Ind), Joe Faughnan (Ind), Michael Loftus (FF), Jarlath Munnelly (FG), John O'Hara (FG), Annie May Reape (FF)

Belmullet: Sean Carey (FF), Gerry Coyle (FG), Paul McNamara (FF)

Castlebar: Harry Barrett (Ind), Cyril Burke (FG), Ger Deere (FG), Blackie Gavin (FF), Michael Kilcoyne (Ind), Al McDonnell (FF), Donna Sheridan (FG)

Claremorris: Michael Burke (FG), Richard Finn (Ind), Alma Gallagher (FG), Paul Lawless (Aontú), Patsy O'Brien (Ind), Damian Ryan (FF)

Swinford: John Caulfield (FF), Neil Cruise (FG), Adrian Forkan (FF), Gerry Murray (SF)

Westport: Peter Flynn (FG), Chris Maxwell (Independent Ireland), Brendan Mulroy (FF), John O'Malley (Ind)