Ambitious Aghamore end 34-year famine

Thursday, 31st December, 2015 12:59pm

Ambitious Aghamore end 34-year famine

Aghamore players James and Michael McNieve pictured with the Billy Kenny Cup. Also pictured are Bernadette and Matthew McNieve. PHOTO: MICHAEL DONNELLY

Aghamore  ................. 5-17

Moy Davitts ................ 2-9


AGHAMORE ended a 34-wait to regain the Mayo Under 21 A championship title when they defeated Moy Davitts in a highly entertaining 2015 decider played in the Connaught School of Excellence, Bekan, last night.

In this all east Mayo decider, Aghamore laid the foundations for their empathic victory at the beginning of both halves by scoring two early goals in each.

Within  four minutes of the start they found themselves eight points in front thanks mainly to two great goals from  full-forward James Lyons.

Despite this early set-back Moy Davitts bounced back and a great goal by Brian Reape two minutes before the break brought them right back into contention. They trailed by just six points at the interval, 2-9 to 1-6.

However, like the opening half, Aghamore started the second in whirlwind fashion and goals by Darren Duffy and Sean Og Tigue in the 32nd and 33rd minutes put them 12 points clear.

To their credit Moy Davitts kept battling away and were rewarded with a second goal by Brian reape. But a fifth goal for Aghamore from Ross Egan in the 50th minute sealed a great win for Aghamore.

Aghamore: D. Hunt, J. Kelly, C. Harrison, A. Henry, J. McNieve, C. Kilkenny, S. Collins (0-1), D. Kenny, C. Lyons, F. Boland (0-5), D. Duffy (1-1), M. McNieve, R. Egan (1-4), J. Lyons (2-4), S. Og Tigue (1-2).

Subs used: L. Duffy, A. Kilduff, D. Freyne, D. Harrison, D. Cunnane, N. Robinson.

Moy Davitts: N. Regan, L. Jordan, D. Ruane, N. Murphy, J. Gilmore, O. McHugh, S. Mulroy, M. Babianwyk, P. Ruane, A. Burke (0-2), B. Reape (2-4), P. Langan, L. Byrne (0-1), B. Heneghan (0-1), K. McDermott.

Subs used: M. Guilfoyal (0-1), M. Murphy, G. Gilmartin, D. Doherty, R. Binley.

Referee: D. Corcoran (Islandeady).

Man of the match: Ross Egan, Aghamore...caused havoc for the Moy Davitts defence.


Post a Comment

blog comments powered by Disqus