Sweeping municipal district changes in Mayo ahead of 2019 local elections

Story by Tom Kelly

Wednesday, 13th June, 2018 12:13pm

Sweeping municipal district changes in Mayo ahead of 2019 local elections

The HQ of Mayo County Council at the Mall, Castlebar. Photo: Alison Laredo

MAYO is set to become a six-district county once again ahead of the next local elections in May 2019, representing an increase of two electoral areas.

The local electional boundary commission has completed its report which is due for publication tomorrow, a day later that originally planned.

Informed sources have revealed to The Connaught Telegraph that the new divisions will be as follows.

Belmullet (3 seats), Ballina (6 seats), Castlebar (7 seats), Claremorris (6 seats), Swinford (4 seats) and Westport (4 seats), a total of 30 seats.

The move represents an increase of two municipal districts with Swinford, Westport and Achill/Erris (previously Belmullet) being restored.

However, Ballinrobe, which had its own electoral area up to 2004, is staying in Claremorris.

The new landscape appears to be very much along the same lines as it was for the 2009 local elections.

The changes will result in the loss of seats for Ballina, Castlebar and Claremorris as a result of the reshuffle with the town of Kiltimagh, who has been in Castlebar since 2014, set to be transferred into the new Swinford district while Foxford looks likely to move from Ballina to Swinford.

The commission is scrapping the West Mayo Municipal District which streteched from Belmullet to Louisburgh. 

The maps of the new divisions are not being released until later today.

It is not until that point that a clear picture will accurately emerge of the political implications.

Post a Comment

blog comments powered by Disqus