Double delight for Town

Sunday, 28th October, 2018 8:19pm

Double delight for Town

Ballina Town captain Mark Duffy accepts the Connacht Gold Super Cup at Solar 21 Park, Milebush. Photo: Michael Donnelly

BALLINA Town capped off a spectacular season in style as they outclassed Castlebar Celtic in Solar 21 Park, Milebush, earlier today to win the Connacht Gold Super Cup final by four goals to nil, writes Stuart Tynan.

Aside from the opening quarter of an hour, Ballina were very much in control. With excellent performances from David O'Mahoney, Fabiano Macario and the superb Dylan Edwards, they underlined their status as the outstanding side in the Mayo Football League for the 2018 season as they secured a delightful double, adding to the Elverys Sports Super League crown they sealed a number of weeks ago.

For Castlebar Celtic, it was simply a day to forget. Their best opening came after 15 minutes when a cross from Jason Hunt found Ger O'Boyle but he failed to get any proper connection on his header, with his effort going wide.

Ballina then took the lead after 22 minutes. A corner was swung in by Dylan Edwards which found the head of David O'Mahoney and he made no mistake, sending it to the Celtic 'keeper's right and into the corner of the net.

Town doubled their lead 10 minutes before half-time. A cross from the left by Edwards found O'Mahoney again, and again he made no mistake, heading home from close range to put Ballina in command with a two-goal lead going into the interval.

Ballina continued to assert their dominance in the second half. After a series of missed chances, they got their reward. With 73 minutes played, a great pass from Edwards found Jamie Cawley who brilliantly rounded the 'keeper to send the Ballina supporters wild.

Ten minutes before the end, the result was put beyond all doubt. Cawley turned provider this time and substitute Benny Lavelle, making the time and space for himself, picked his spot and buried his strike into the back of the net.


Ballina Town: M. Duffy, N. Leahy, D. Helly, S. Melvin, O. Feeney, T. Forde, F. Macario, D. McKee, D. O'Mahoney, D. Edwards, J. Cawley.

Subs used: B. Lavelle for D. O'Mahoney, C. Gaughan for D. McKee, N. Casey for O. Feeney, L. Honan for F. Macario.

Castlebar Celtic: S. Cafferkey, C. Coyne, M. Howley, I. O'Reilly, A. Murphy, G. Hunt, B. Murphy, G. O'Boyle, J. Sola, J. Hunt, L. Flatley.

Subs: C. Scahill for M. Howley.

Ref: J. Mulroe (Ballyheane).

Post a Comment

blog comments powered by Disqus