Sean Conlon. Another starring role for Mayo minors.

Mayo cruise into All-Ireland semi-final

MAYO minors cruised into the All-Ireland minor football semi-final following an easy 3-13 to 0-9 victory over Armagh in Croke Park today.

By half time Mayo led by five points – 1-6 to 0-4 – and when this was increased to 13 after just 10 minutes into the second half, it was merely a matter of what the final scoreline would be.

Armagh led twice in the opening four minutes but once Mayo hit the front in the seventh minute through Cian Hanley, they never looked back and were never behind again.

The game really came to life in the second quarter, during which Mayo stamped their authority on proceedings. The goal Mayo had been threatening finally arrived after 25 minutes, Fionnan Duffy with a good finish.

Mayo settled the issue early in the second half with an unanswered two goals – both scored by Brian Reape – and a point, which extended their advantage to 13 points.

For the remainder the game Mayo played in second gear and manager Enda Gilvarry was able to use his full quota of substitutes.

Mayo: M. Flanagan, C. Kilkenny, S. Cunniffe, E. O’Donohue, J. Forkan, B. Duffy (0-1), S. Conlon (0-1), G. Walsh, M. Ruane (0-1), G. Boylan (0-1), C. Hanley (0-3), S. Akram, F. Duffy (1-2), T.J. Byrne (0-1), B. Reape (2-1).

Subs used: C. Byrne (0-1), S. Brennan, D. Clarke, L. Byrne, O. Horan (0-1), K. Hopkins.

Armagh: R. Kearney, F. Quinn, A. Rushe, C. Donnelly, P. Judge, C. McKinney, C. McNicholl, J. Og Burns (0-1), R. McKeown (0-1), J. Rafferty, O. O Neill (0-4), K. Mallon, R. Hughes (0-1), S. Conlon, C. McConville (0-1).

Subs used: C. Cullen, C. Grimley (0-1), C. Boylan, C. Higgins, C. Murphy, P. Quinn.

Referee: P. Neilan (Roscommon).