Deputy Dara Calleary and Councillor Lisa Chambers look poised to be selected at Mayo's two FF candidates in the next general election.

Anger over fianna fils mayo election model

Fianna Fáil HQ has announced it is holding is rescheduled Mayo general election candidate selection convention in Castlebar next Friday, June 12.

Despite members of the Mayo Fianna Fáil Dáil Ceanntair balloting by 129 votes to 104 in favour of a three-candidate strategy last March, delegates were informed today that the four-seat constituency is being split into two districts, similar to the old East Mayo and West Mayo Dáil constituencies.

According to Sean Dorgan, the party’s general secretary, 'this model is being employed for the purpose of selecting two candidates and ensuring the ticket is geographically balanced.'

The west Mayo district, which includes the towns of Castlebar and Westport, has a voting population of 50,849 and two nominated candidates are listed, Councillor Lisa Chambers and Councillor Brendan Mulroy.

The east Mayo division, which covers the Ballina and Claremorris municipal districts apart from the voters transferred to Galway West, boasts 42,814 members of the electorate and the nominated candidates are outgoing Deputy Dara Calleary and Knock-based Leonard Ryan, Mayo’s constituency delegate to the Ard Comhairle.

There is growing speculation of a protest being mounted by east Mayo delegates in opposition to the strategy.