Pictured at the announcement of the finalists are Marty Morrissey and George Jones, chairman, IPB Insurance. Photo: Paul Sherwood

Six Mayo finalists in community and council awards

THE All-Ireland finalists for the Community and Council Awards 2018 presented by IPB Insurance and LAMA (Local Authority Members Association) have been announced.

Mayo has six short-listed projects in the running for awards.

For 12 years these awards have grown in popularity nationwide, celebrating communities and councils working together, and for the first time the event moves to Croke Park for the All-Ireland final, which will be aptly hosted by RTÉ sports commentator Marty Morrissey.

It has been an extraordinary year for entries with over 150 nominations received. Following an in-depth judging process over 100 projects nationwide from 23 counties were shortlisted across 20 categories.

Fingal and South Dublin will battle it out against their old rivals Mayo along with large representations from Wicklow, Monaghan and Tipperary also seeking to take home trophies on the night.

This year has been extremely successful for Mayo, with six projects shortlisted for the 2018 awards, as follows:

Crossmolina St. Patrick's Day Light Festival - Arts/Culture (including festival & events)

Westport 250 - Arts/Culture (including festival & events)

Mayo Community Futures - Best Community Based Initiative

It’s For Girls - Best Community Health Initiative

Wild Mayo Development and Promotional Campaign - Best Tourism Initiative

John Cooney and Seamus Jordan (Crossmolina Festival) - Community Volunteer of the Year

Among the awards to be presented on the night is the coveted Council of the Year, along with the ever popular Best Community-Based Initiative and Best Public Building. New categories this year include Best Local Authority Innovation for Attracting Inward Investment and Best Arts/Culture Project or Initiative (including festivals andevents).

The winners will be announced at the gala awards ceremony in Croke Park Stadium on Saturday, February 3.

A full list of finalists is available at www.lamaawards.org.