Mayo minor celebrate their Connaught final victory over Galway at Tuam Stadium this evening. Photo: Sportsfile

Mayo capture Connaught minor title

Mayo were crowned Connaught minor football champions following a one-point victory over Galway in Tuam Stadium this evening.

The final score in the Electric Ireland Connaught minor football championship final was Mayo 1-18, Galway 1-17.

The sides were level at full-time on 0-15 each after a rip-roaring encounter which saw Mayo come back on a number occasions to level and then lead until Galway's Tomo Culhane landed the equaliser with the last kick of the game.

A converted penalty by Culhane had Galway three in front at the end of the first period of extra time but a great point by Paul Walsh and a penalty scored by Frank Irwin had Mayo back in front two minutes into the second period of extra time.

Irwin's goal proved to be the final score of the game and Mayo held on for a famous victory.

It was a powerful all-round team performance from Mayo, led by man of the match Ethan Henry who scored six magnificent points.

Mayo will now play the Leinster runners-up in the All-Ireland quarterfinal at the end of the month.