Yellow rainfall warning with snow 'in parts'

MAYO is one of 15 counties being issued with a rainfall warning for Sunday night, into Monday morning.

Met Éireann has issued a status yellow rainfall warning for Connaught, Cavan, Monaghan, Donegal, Longford, Louth, Offaly, Westmeath, Meath, Clare and Tipperary.

Rain on Sunday night into Monday morning will lead to accumulations of between 20 to 25mm quite widely, with higher totals possible in upland areas.

The rain is likely to be preceded by a period of snow in parts of Connaught, Ulster and north Leinster, before turning to rain later in the night.

The warning is valid from 8 p.m. Sunday for 12 hours.