Mayo Ladies GAA in crisis after resignations

ONGOING problems within the Mayo Ladies GAA County Board have reached new heights after 10 of the 12 executive members of the county board have stepped down from their positions.

In an email circulated to all the clubs in Mayo this afternoon, the 10 members of the executive who have decided to step down have requested that an emergency general meeting be arranged for Thursday night, March 19.

The email sent to all clubs this afternoon is as follows: “The Executive members listed have requested a postponment of tonight's Mayo Ladies County Board meeting.

"There are several issues that were raised by delegates at the February County Board meeting that we still do not have answers for. The postponement has not been facilited.

“Therefore we are giving notice to clubs that we the 10 members named below are stepping down from our position with immediate effect.

“Despite long hours and extraordinary effort, we cannot work within the curent enviroment. We are calling for an Emergency General Meeting for Thursday, March 19.

“We'd like to thank all clubs for your help and support to date.”

The correspondence was signed by Declan Kennedy, Breda Waldron, Agnes McDonagh, Cathy Fleming, Brian Dunleavy, Terry Pattinson, Damien Gavin, Meghan Craughwell, Des Phillips and Padraig Hennigan.

More from this Topic