Colm McHale of Mayo in action against Cillian Trayers of Galway during this evening's Electric Ireland All-Ireland MFC final at Dr. Hyde Park, Roscommon. Photo: Piaras Ó Mídheach / Sportsfile

Rampant Galway shock Mayo to land All-Ireland minor title

A rampant Galway team shocked Mayo to win the Electric Ireland All-Ireland minor football championship final on a scoreline of 0-15 to 0-9 in Dr. Hyde Park, Roscommon, this evening.

This novel all-Connacht final never really took off from a Mayo point of view as Galway produced their best performance of the year to deservedly claim the title.

Having suffered defeat twice to Mayo in the provincial campaign (and they also suffered a defeat to Leitrim in the provincial round robin series, surely making them one of very few teams to win an All-Ireland having been beaten on three occasions), Galway went into this final as underdogs and certainly there was air about them that they had nothing to lose.

A bright start had them two points to the good, Eanna Monaghan slotting two frees, before Mayo got off the mark in the 10th minute, Cathal Keaveney with a free.

Mayo equalised through James Maheady with the first of his three very impressive points from play, and it looked as though this could break out into a close and highly entertaining encounter.

But Galway, who had shipped 1-15 in their first meeting with Mayo, had their homework done and Tomás Farthing played the sweeper role to perfection, helping to nullify a potent Mayo forward line. It was clear from early on that Mayo would have to work hard for every score.

At the other end Galway were shaping up well and creating goal chances. They didn't take any but the warning signs were there.

Mayo led just once in the game, Maheady's third point edging them 0-5 to 0-4 ahead on 19 minutes, but by half-time Galway, playing against the wind, had opened up a two-point lead – 0-8 to 0-6 – Monaghan contributing 0-4 in total (three frees), with Colm Costello (two, one free), Stephen Curley and Fionn O'Connor also on target.

Livewire Ronan Clarke contributed one point to Mayo's first-half tally but was otherwise quite well shackled, and Galway were good value for their lead at the break.

Mayo needed a good start to the second half but it didn't materialise. Instead Galway reeled off three points in succession though Shay McGlinchey and Costello (two) before seven minutes had been played, opening up a five-point advantage. It proved insurmountable for the Green and Red, though they tried valiantly to find a way back into the game.

Clarke landed three scores (two frees) at various stages in that second half as Galway settled into a pattern of soaking up pressure and hitting Mayo on the break.

The Tribesmen had a few goal chances again this half but they didn't need them on an evening when they clicked and Mayo didn't, and it was enough to secure a merited All-Ireland minor football title.

Mayo: David Dolan; Rio Mortimer, John McMonagle, Lorcan Silke; Liam Maloney, Colm McHale (0-1), Paul Gilmore; Jack Keane, Luke Feeney; James Maheady (0-3), Dara Hurley, Diarmuid Duffy; Cathal Keaveney (0-1), Ronan Clarke (0-4), Niall Hurley.

Subs used: Oliver Armstrong, Zac Collins, Oisín Cronin, Dylan Gallagher, Sean O'Dowd.

Galway: Kyle Gilmore; Tomás Farthing, Ryan Flaherty, Vinny Gill; Mark Mannion, Cillian Trayers (0-1), Ross Coen; Jack Lonergan, Shay McGlinchey (0-1); Owen Morgan (0-1), Sean Dunne, Stephen Curley (0-2); Fionn O'Connor (0-1), Eanna Monaghan (0-5), Colm Costello (0-4).

Subs used: Charlie Cox, Olan Kelly, Padraic McNeela, Luke Carr, Cian Dolan.

Referee: Niall Cullen (Fermanagh).