Names in the running to replace Ryan Tubridy as Late Late Show host

After fourteen years at the helm, Ryan Tubridy has announced that he will step back from the Late Late Show later this year, and leading bookmaker Ladbrokes has already seen mounting interest in who will replace him in the presenters’ chair.

Veteran RTE broadcaster Miriam O’Callaghan has been installed as the hot-favourite to replace ‘Tubs’ at odds of 3/1, while Claire Byrne is also in the running at 6/1 to make a return to TV, after stepping back from ‘Claire Byrne Live’ late last year.

Ray D’Arcy, no stranger to chat show hosting duties is also in the mix at 8/1 to take over the Late Late Show gig, as are Brendan O’Connor and Tommy Tiernan who can be backed at 10/1 and 16/1 respectively.

Sarah McInerney is currently priced at 18/1 to swap her Radio One afternoon show for the prime-time TV presenter slot.

The bookies are also offering odds of 18/1 for Love Island winner Greg O’Shea, the recently announced co-host of Virgin Media’s Six O’Clock show, to make the jump to RTE for the Late Late Show job.

Ladbrokes has also reported interest in Marty Morrissey, a national treasure in Irish GAA circles to swap his RTE Sport gig for the ‘Late Late’. The Clare native can currently be backed at 33/1.

Greg O’Shea isn’t the only Virgin Media name in the mix with Ireland AM’s Alan Hughes an outsider shot at 40/1, along with the Six O’Clock show favourite Martin King and Political Correspondent Gavan Reilly who are both at 50/1 as things stand.

Nicola McGeady of Ladbrokes said: Since the news broke that Ryan Tubridy will depart the Late Late Show later this year, fans have been in a frenzy over who will replace the popular RTE broadcaster.

While only time will tell who will replace ‘Tubs’ in the iconic armchair on Friday nights, with the likes of Miriam O’Callaghan, Claire Byrne and even Marty Morrissey in the mix, there is certainly no shortage of suitable candidates!

The current odds are:

3/1 Miriam O’Callaghan, 6/1 Claire Byrne, 8/1 Ray D’Arcy, 10/1 Brendan O’Connor, 10/1 Daithi O’Sé, 16/1 Tommy Tiernan, 18/1 Sarah McInerney, 18/1 Greg O’Shea, 33/1 Marty Morrissey, 40/1 Alan Hughes, 50/1 Martin King, 50/1 Gavan Reilly.