Solitary change to Mayo minor team for Connacht final

Mayo minor football team manager Sean Deane and his selectors have made one change to their starting 15 for the Connacht final against Galway this evening (Friday) in Tuam Stadium.

The solitary change sees Eoin McGreal named at full-back again despite not starting against Roscommon last weekend. McGreal impressed when introduced off the bench against Roscommon. Seanie O'Reilly returns to the bench on this occasion.

The Neale GAA Club star Tommy Lydon is named at centre-forward for this evening's final despite playing most of the second half against Roscommon on the edge of the small square last time out. Lydon was the hero for Mayo last week with a late winning point that secured victory over Roscommon after a ding-dong battle.

At the back, Conor Meaney has been rock solid between the posts and starts in goal, with James Lavelle and Yousif Coghill now flanking McGreal in the Mayo full-back line.

Outside them, captain Rio Mortimer anchors the half-back line, with Jamie Clarke and Fionan O'Reilly on the wings.

The industrious Tiernan Egan and hard-working Shane Cunningham continue at midfield, with the same six forwards named as against Roscommon.

That means Colm Lynch and Dara Neary are named at wing-forward, supporting Lydon in the centre, with Darragh Beirne, the towering Josh Carey and Senan Guilfoyle occupying in the inside line.

Highly regarded Roscommon referee Dermot Jnr Lyons will officiate this evening's game, which is live on TG4, with radio commentary on Midwest Radio featuring Stephen Grealis and Nigel Reape. Mayo GAA will have live updates across all social media on Friday evening also. The throw-in time is 7 p.m. in Tuam Stadium and tickets can be purchased here.

The Mayo starting team is as follows: Conor Meaney (Westport); James Lavelle (Belmullet), Eoin McGreal (Garrymore), Yousif Coghill (Breaffy); Jamie Clarke (Bohola Moy Davitts), Rio Mortimer (Claremorris), Fionan O'Reilly (Castlebar Mitchels); Tiernan Egan (Hollymount/Carramore), Shane Cunningham (Castlebar Mitchels); Colm Lynch (Parke-KC), Tommy Lydon (The Neale), Dara Neary (Parke-KC); Darragh Beirne (Claremorris), Josh Carey (Kiltane), Senan Guilfoyle (Eastern Gaels).

On the subs' bench are: Dylan O'Brien (Davitts), Conall Breslin (Aghamore), Sean Walsh (Killala), Seanie O'Reilly (Castlebar Mitchels), Conor Ryder (Bohola Moy Davitts), Gavin Forry (Castlebar Mitchels), Thomas Tuffy (Swinford), Ryan Gibbons (Castlebar Mitchels), Fionnan Burke (Kiltimagh).