Conor Reid of Mayo in action against Kieran Molloy of Galway during today's Allianz National Football League Division 1 clash at Pearse Stadium, Salthill. Photo: Piaras Ó Mídheach | Sportsfile

Sweet victory for Mayo over old foes Galway in Salthill

Mayo made an impressive start to the defence of their Allianz National Football League Division 1 title with a sweet 2-12 to 0-10 victory over Galway in Pearse Stadium, Salthill.

A goal on 11 minutes from Eoghan McLaughlin helped Mayo take a foothold, and victory was made certain when substitute Cillian O'Connor scored from the penalty spot two minutes into added time.

Between those two goals, Mayo were largely dominant against a Galway team missing some big names due to injury, among them Cillian McDaid, Seán Kelly and Damien Comer.

Mayo were almost at full strength, and the returning Fergal Boland certainly made an impact with three points from play, while Sam Callinan, Jordan Flynn, Jack Carney, Bob Tuohy and Paddy Durcan all impressed greatly too.

By half-time, buoyed by McLaughlin's goal, Mayo held a four-point lead (1-6 to 0-5), and that was despite playing into the gale-force wind and losing Ryan O'Donoghue for 10 minutes to a black card.

Even with the assistance of the wind, Galway struggled to find any degree of rhythm in the second half and Mayo were able to keep them at arm's length.

In injury time, O'Connor converted from the penalty spot and Carney concluded the scoring with a fine effort to put gloss on the scoreline.

Next up for Kevin McStay's men is a meeting with All-Ireland champions Dublin in Hastings Insurance MacHale Park, Castlebar, next Saturday evening, while Galway have an away game up the road in Roscommon on Sunday afternoon.

Mayo: C. Reape; J. Coyne, D. McBrien, R. Brickenden; P. Durcan (0-1), S. Callinan, E. McLaughlin (1-0); B. Tuohy (0-1), C. Reid; F. Boland (0-3), J. Carney (0-1), J. Flynn (0-2); A. O’Shea, T. Conroy, R. O’Donoghue (0-2f).

Subs used: D. Duffy for Reid (46), P. Towey (0-2) for Conroy (56), C. O’Connor (1-0p) for O’Shea (59), D. McHugh for Tuohy (63), S. Coen for Boland (69).

Galway: C. Gleeson; J. McGrath, S. Fitzgerald, E. Kelly; S. Mulkerrin, J. Daly, K. Molloy; J. Maher, D. McHugh (0-1); J. Heaney, S. Walsh (0-4, 2f, 45'), C. Darcy; L. Ó Conghaile (0-2), N. Daly, C. Sweeney (0-1).

Subs used: M Tierney (0-1f) for N. Daly (19); P. Conroy for Heaney (HT), C. Ó Curraoin (0-1) for Molloy (50), R. Finnerty for Darcy (52), D. O’Flaherty for Ó Conghaile (64).

Referee: S. Hurson (Tyrone).