Sinn Féin's team in Mayo local elections is now seven-strong

There was a full house in the Gateway Hotel in Swinford as Mayo Sinn Féin selected three more candidates for the 2024 local elections, due to take place on Friday, June 7.

This brings the number of Sinn Féin candidates to seven across the county so far, with more selections expected in the coming weeks.

The first of the three candidates to be selected at the convention was sitting councillor Gerry Murray (Claremorris Swinford Municipal District).

Since first elected to Mayo County Council, Councillor Murray has delivered numerous social and economic projects for the people and the communities he represents – including new libraries, art centres, playgrounds, sports facilities, the roll out of major sanitation and water schemes, the regeneration of local authority housing estates, the taking in charge of group water schemes by Mayo County Council and the ongoing maintenance of local and regional roads.

He successfully campaigned for all local authorities in the west to become stakeholders in Ireland West Airport and is a passionate believer in the concept of balanced regional development; and continues to campaign for critical infrastructural projects such as roads, rail and broadband, so rural Ireland will be able to attract significant foreign direct investment and much more importantly, will be able to grow indigenous industry and enterprise.

John Sheahan is the second candidate selected for the Claremorris Swinford Municipal District.

A native of Swinford, John still lives in the town and is determined to bring positive changes for his local community.

In the 2014 local elections, John came very close to being elected, when he received 1,026 first preference votes, missing out on a seat by only 59 votes.

John has been campaigning since 2014 to have Swinford Garda Station restored to full-time to serve the east Mayo area, and if elected, he will continue to campaign on this issue, as well as fighting for supports for small businesses and family farms.

John previously served as cathaoirleach of Mayo Sinn Féin and sat on the Árd Comhairle.

Antonio Cafolla has been chosen to run for election in the Ballina MD, along with Úna Morris, a constituency worker in TD Rose Conway-Walsh’s Ballina office.

Antonio has been involved in community activism in Ballina for many years through his work as a steward and then a director with the Ballina Salmon Festival.

He was involved in setting up Ballina Community Radio, where he and another founding member studied radio production in order to get a broadcast licence.

Antonio also volunteers with the Ballina Community Clean Up and helps to coach girls’ gaelic football and soccer.

If elected, he will campaign for safer and more accessible roads for walkers, cyclists and other road users in the town and surrounding villages. He also pledges to fight tirelessly for local businesses so that the town centre can thrive.

* Pictured are, at front, Chris MacManus MEP, Rose Conway-Walsh TD, Councillor Gerry Murray and Donna Hyland (Castlebar candidate). At back are Rosaleen Lally (Belmullet candidate), Antonio Cafolla (Ballina candidate), Úna Morris (Ballina candidate), John Sheahan (Swinford Claremorris candidate) and Karen Gallagher (Westport candidate).