Top of the poll Chris Maxwell with his family and friends. PHOTO: ALISON LAREDO

Hyland loses out as final Westport seats are filled

THE last of the four Westport Electoral Area seats on Mayo County Council were filled at around midnight tonight (Sunday).

Independent Councillor Christy Hyland has lost his seat, with sitting councillors Johnny O'Malley (also Non Party) and Brendan Mulroy (Fianna Fáil) taking the final two seats.

Earlier, Peter Flynn of Fine Gael was safely re-elected after poll-topping Chris Maxwell took the first seat with a massive vote.

In a tight finish, the final three candidates' votes total was: Hyland 1,742; Mulroy 1,792; and O'Malley 1,797.