John O'Mahony and fellow former TD Michelle Mulherin have been nominated to the Seanad by An Taoiseach Enda Kenny.

O'Mahony and Mulherin among Taoiseach's Seanad nominees

FORMER Mayo Fine Gael Dáil deputies John O'Mahony and Michelle Mulherin are two of Taoiseach Enda Kenny's 11 nominees to Seanad Éireann.

Announced today, among the other nominees are four more former Fine Gael TDs - James Reilly, Paudie Coffey, Ray Butler and Roscommon's Frank Feighan - plus a number of individuals from the voluntary sector.

O'Mahony was a General Election 2016 candidate in the Galway West constituency, which incorporated a portion of south Mayo, while Mulherin ran in her native Mayo, but both lost their seats.

New to Seanad Éireann are Joan Freeman, the founder of Pieta House, Billy Lawless, an advocate for Irish immigrants in the US, and Colette Kelleher, Alzheimer's Ireland CEO.

Former Senator Mary Louise O'Donnell and businessman Pádraig Ó Céidigh have also been nominated to the Seanad.

The Taoiseach said he has advised President Michael D. Higgins to convene the first meeting of the new Seanad on Wednesday, June 8, at 3 p.m.