Mayo manager Stephen Rochford being congratulated by Lee Keegan. Photo: Sportsfile

Mayo show their class with emphatic replay triumph over Connaught champions

Mayo .............. 4-19

Roscommon ....0-9

MAYO stormed into the All-Ireland SFC semi-final for the seventh consecutive season with an emphatic victory over Roscommon at Croke Park this afternoon in their replayed quarterfinal clash.

Stephen's Rochford's charges, who now face Kerry on August 20, took command of the game for the throw-in and never let go.

They literally killed off the challenge of the Connaught champions with three first half goals in rapid succession by Kevin McLoughlin, Andy Moran and Keith Higgins.

A fourth goal by Cillian O'Connor in the second period underlined Mayo's total supremacy as they finished the game strongly after a Roscommon side reduced to 14 players by the sending-off of Finan Cregg.

It was the day when Mayo finally clicked in the series following a number of disappointing and frustrating displays.

But they are back up and running now and it will rake a good side to stop them in their tracks if they can keep playing at this level and with Footbeller of the Year Lee Keegan due to return after sitting out this one.  

Mayo: D. Clarke, B. Harrison, D. Vaughan (0-1), K. Higgins (1-0), C. Boyle, C. Barrett (0-1), P. Durcan, T. Parsons (0-1), S. O'Shea, K. McLoughlin (1-0), A. O'Shea (0-2), D. O'Connor (0-1), J. Doherty (0-2), C. O'Connor (1-6, 5f), A. Moran (1-1).

Subs used: D. Drake for Barrett (blood, 10), C. Loftus for Doherty (46), Drake (0-1) for McLoughlin (55), A. Dillon for Moran (61), S. Coen (0-1) for Vaughan (61), D. Kirby for A. O'Shea (62), S. Nally (0-2) for Barrett (66). 

Roscommon: C. Lavin, S. McDermott, N. McInerney, D. Murray, J. McManus, S. Mullooly (0-1), B. Stack, T. O'Rourke, E. Smith (0-1), C. Fitzmaurice, N. Kilroy (0-1), C. Devaney (0-1), Cathal Compton, D. Murtagh (0-4, 2f), C. Connolly.

Subs used: C. Murtagh for Compton (HT), G. Patterson for McDermott (HT), F. Cregg for Connolly (HT), D. Smith (0-1) for Stack (46), I. Kilbride for Devaney (60), Colin Compton for E. Smith (63), 

Ref: A. Nolan (Wicklow).