Lovely gesture as schools agree to share Cumann na mBunscol title after epic Mayo final

IT will be regarded as a trick question in any GAA quiz in the years to come when it is asked - who were the winners of the Mayo Cumann na mBunscol Division 2B Boys title in 2018?

Was it it the pupils from Balla national school or the boys from Knockrooskey national school?

Well, the answer is both as, in a unique piece of GAA history, the two school proved inseparable in the decider, which was one of seven finals held at MacHale Park, Castlebar.

In a remarkable game, despite four periods of extra-time, the teams remained level and rather than going for a sudden death or free-kick solution, the two teams deciided in a great sporting gesutre to share the title.

“In fairness, neither of these teams deserved to lose,” was the view of our reporter covering the final, Michael Gallagher.

Said Michael: “The game was level at the end of normal time, still level after two five minute periods of extra time and remained level after two further periods of additional time.

"The next phase would have been a free-kick shootout to find a winner but all involved decided that both teams deserved to be called champions.”

See the match report in our exstensive four-page spread on all the finals in our sport section, along withe Cumann na mBunscol hurling finals, in next Tuesday's issue.

* Pictured are Richie Goggins, chairman, Mayo Cumann na mBunscol, presents the trophy to Noah Massey, captain, Knockrooskey NS, Westport, and David Dolan, captain, Balla NS, team as they share the title after 42 periods of extra time in the final of Division 2B competition during the Allianz Cumann na mBunscol Mhaigheo in Elverys MacHale Park Castlebar. PHOTO: MICHAEL DONNELLY