Liam Moffatt elected new Mayo GAA chief

LIAM  Moffatt has been elected the new chairman of the Mayo GAA County Board.

The Crossmolina man was installed in the position at today's annual convention in Belmullet.

He defeated Seamus Tuohy in a ballot by 91 to 78 votes for the role and succeeds Mick Connelly.

Mr. Moffatt has vowed to bring about changes in the way the sport is run in the county following a number of recent controversies.

There was no debate on the board's dispute with Tim O'Leary, the head of the Mayo GAA International Supporters Club, due to legal constraints.

Mr. O'Leary confirmed on Friday he is taking legal action for the recovery of a €150,000 donation to the board.

His organisation is also withholding a sum of €250,000 raised at a function in New York last May after citing concerns over governance issues.

Dermot Butler, secretary, confirmed an in-committee county board meeting is scheduled to take place before Christmas to update clubs about the dispute.

He restated the position that the board regard Chairde Mhaigh Eo as the organisation's official fundraising arm.

The vote for the post of public relations officer was won by the outgoing office holder Paul Cunnane, who had been challenged by local journalist, Michael Gallagher, by 109 votes to 60.

The following officers were elected unopposed.

President Sean Feeney, secretary Dermot Butler, assistant secretary Ronan Kirrane, treasurer Valarie Murphy, assistant treasurer Michael Diskin, vice-chairman Con Moynihan, and Central Council delegate Paddy McNicholas.

Former board secretary Vincent Neary and Johnny O'Malley were appointed Connacht Council delegate following a vote.